Consumption of alcohol by a person under the age of 21 is always illegal. If an individual under the age of 21 faces charges of underage drinking and driving, the repercussions can be quite serious. If charged with underage DUI in New Jersey or New York, it is critical to respond with a strong defense.
The circumstances under which an individual is facing allegations of criminal actions can play a considerable role in what types of charges may be sought by authorities. If a driver is suspected of driving under the influence, that individual could face DUI charges. However, there could also be additional charges if other parties were injured due to the apparent actions of the driver. In such a situation, a driver will likely wish to determine how those circumstances will affect his or her case.
When a person is suspected of driving under the influence, there are certain standards that may need to be met before a person could be charged. For instance, states have certain blood-alcohol levels that are considered legal limits, and if a driver is over that limit, he or she could face DUI charges. If an individual is also under the legal drinking age, those limits could be lowered.
While the following story did not play out here in New Jersey, it does show just how the criminal process can get so complicated and messy that even a judge can make a mistake -- leading to an accused person getting a second chance at justice.
When a motorist is arrested for drunken driving in New Jersey they face a variety of potential penalties. In the case of a first offense motorists are subject to potential penalties including jail time, probation, license suspension, fines and community service. In addition, if a motorist is convicted for driving with a BAC of 0.15 or higher, they are also required to obtain an ignition interlock device for the duration of their license suspension, as well as an additional 6 months to a year following reinstatement.
Drunk Driving is a serious offense. Individuals convicted of drunk driving in the state of New Jersey can face stiff penalties, including license suspension, fines, ignition interlock and more. While many motorists opt for taxis or designated drivers when going out to drink, sometimes, people make mistakes. When this happens, the effects may be more than legal, it can affect your personal life and professional life as well.
A 34-year-old Manalapan, New Jersey man has been charged in connection with an auto accident that critically injured two teenage girls. According to the Old Bridge Police Department, the car crash occurred in late December on Route 9 in Central New Jersey. The man was driving southbound when he allegedly rear-ended a vehicle driven by a 33-year-old woman from Lakewood. The two teenage girls in the back of the woman's vehicle. Police said the passengers and the driver in the second vehicle were injured in the crash. The two teenage passengers were in critical condition; details about the woman's injuries were unavailable at the time this post was prepared.
Drinking and driving is a serious offense. Motorists convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol can face potentially life-changing consequences, even for first time offenses. Currently, in the state of New Jersey a driver convicted of a first time DUI charge with a blood alcohol content greater than .08 percent but less than .10 can face up to a month in jail, 90 days suspension of driving privileges, fines and fees, and 12 to 48 hours with the Intoxicated Driving Resource Center. If this isn't enough, the government is looking to add more.
Drunk driving is a serious offense in the state of New Jersey. Individuals arrested and convicted of a DUI charge in New Jersey can face stiff fines and penalties. For example, penalties for a first DUI offense can include jail time, fines and fees, driver's license suspension or revocation and mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device. In New Jersey, drivers with a BAC level of .08 or higher are considered to be driving under the influence.
The holiday season is a busy time for police. In nearly every state in the nation there is an annual spike in drunk driving and DUI charges during this time of year. Because of this, New Jersey recently enacted a statewide campaign titled, "Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over."