Charges of driving while intoxicated should never be treated lightly by those who are facing them. These types of charges can result in significant punishment and have the potential to spill over into other aspects of a person’s life. Prosecutors will not hesitate to use whatever relevant evidence they can collect to obtain a conviction. If the person is facing other crimes in addition to the DWI, it may make their situation that much more difficult. This could be the fate of one woman who allegedly assaulted a New Jersey police officer when he pulled her over for drunk driving.
When school is out for the summer, many students may try to find way to have fun over their break. Some may even look for that fun to include underage drinking. However, individuals who are looking to participate in such an activity should know that they could face serious punishments if they are charged by authorities. Some states may even take extra precautions to ensure that underage individuals do not consume alcohol.
When authorities do not have all the facts about a situation, an individual could potentially be charged for a crime they possibly were not involved in. If a person is in such a situation, preparing for the legal process ahead of them can be of the utmost importance. Therefore, if a person is facing weapons charges or other serious allegations in relation to a serious event, gaining knowledge about their situation could prove beneficial.
When a motorist is arrested for drunken driving in New Jersey they face a variety of potential penalties. In the case of a first offense motorists are subject to potential penalties including jail time, probation, license suspension, fines and community service. In addition, if a motorist is convicted for driving with a BAC of 0.15 or higher, they are also required to obtain an ignition interlock device for the duration of their license suspension, as well as an additional 6 months to a year following reinstatement.
Drunk Driving is a serious offense. Individuals convicted of drunk driving in the state of New Jersey can face stiff penalties, including license suspension, fines, ignition interlock and more. While many motorists opt for taxis or designated drivers when going out to drink, sometimes, people make mistakes. When this happens, the effects may be more than legal, it can affect your personal life and professional life as well.
Violent crimes are often considered to be among the most heinous crimes an individual can commit in any state in the nation. From a felony assault charge to a murder charge, a conviction for a violent crime can come with serious penalties. Despite the serious nature of a violent crime charge and the potential consequences of a conviction, it is important to remember that a successful defense is possible.
Drinking and driving is a serious offense. Motorists convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol can face potentially life-changing consequences, even for first time offenses. Currently, in the state of New Jersey a driver convicted of a first time DUI charge with a blood alcohol content greater than .08 percent but less than .10 can face up to a month in jail, 90 days suspension of driving privileges, fines and fees, and 12 to 48 hours with the Intoxicated Driving Resource Center. If this isn't enough, the government is looking to add more.
Our New Jersey readers are likely familiar with the rumored "Knockout Game." The game refers to reports of a number of violent attacks in which a person sneaks up behind a random pedestrian and tries to knock that person out with a single punch to the head. In New Jersey, the game received considerable attention after a man died in Hoboken in what state officials said might have been a "Knockout Game" assault. Reports of alleged violent crimes related to the game have grown widely across the U.S. in recent months.
Drunk driving is a serious offense in the state of New Jersey. Individuals arrested and convicted of a DUI charge in New Jersey can face stiff fines and penalties. For example, penalties for a first DUI offense can include jail time, fines and fees, driver's license suspension or revocation and mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device. In New Jersey, drivers with a BAC level of .08 or higher are considered to be driving under the influence.
A drunk driving charge should never be discounted. Individuals convicted of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol can face serious penalties including license suspension, fines and jail time. If someone is facing a DWI charge, however, it is important that they contact an experienced criminal defense attorney. An attorney can help a defendant try to negotiate a better outcome, or possibly even get the charge drop entirely.