If you have had no subsequent convictions and can show that you are no longer a threat to others, it might be possible to terminate your obligations to register as a sex offender under Megan’s Law.
Under New Jersey law, convicted sex offenders can take steps ultimately geared toward removing the severe penalties under Megan’s Law after 15 years. It is not a certainty in all cases, but a skilled criminal defense lawyer can provide the strong representation you need. At Sutnick & Sutnick Attorneys at Law, our staff of dedicated professionals stands ready to fight on your behalf.
Know Your Rights
For those convicted of sex crimes, registering as a sex offender can be a devastating consequence. They might face the loss of job, educational or housing opportunities. Facing the social stigma of being a registered sex offender might simply be too much for many to bear. Fortunately, under certain circumstances, convicted individuals may be eligible for the termination of registration obligations under Megan’s Law.
Those convicted of certain sex offenses 15 years ago should discuss their legal options with an experienced criminal defense attorney. Crimes such as rape or sexual assault, aggravated criminal sexual conduct, kidnapping, luring or enticing a minor, or criminal restraint would likely have included Megan’s Law penalties upon conviction.
Discuss Your Options At A Free Consultation
Our lawyers can help you move on from a sexual offense conviction. Call 201-212-4532 or email our firm to discuss your options and the possibility of your release from Megan’s Law registration. From our locations in Hackensack, Wayne and the Bronx, we serve clients throughout northern New Jersey and the New York City metro area.