New Jersey is known for its strict gun laws. In fact, if you own a gun, you may find yourself facing criminal charges for any number of reasons. If you were lacking the right type of gun permit, were accused of transporting the firearm in an unlawful manner or used the gun in a suspected crime, your potential penalties are likely to be serious. They can include fines and possible jail time.
Sutnick & Sutnick Attorneys at Law is prepared to vigorously defend your rights after a criminal charge. We understand that you are worried and nervous about your future, and we can show you what your options are.
Gun Laws In New Jersey
According to the New Jersey State Police, if you are a resident of New Jersey, you will need to undergo a background check and obtain permits for firearms in your possession. You will also need separate permits for handguns and long guns, such as rifles.
Additional firearm laws in New Jersey include:
- Assault weapons are banned.
- Open carrying of a gun only is allowed with a special permit.
- People with prior misdemeanor domestic violence convictions are restricted from owning a firearm.
New Jersey gun laws are particularly harsh because a state prison sentence is mandatory. Possession of a weapon without a permit or unlawful possession of a weapon carries a minimum sentence of 5 years in prison with 3 1/2 years to be served before parole eligibility. It is shocking to many people when they learn that a gun carried for protection or a weapon they thought was licensed may send them to jail for a long time, even if it is their first arrest.
It is important to consult an attorney right away to begin working on a strong defense. We can help determine if the police conducted a proper search. We will discuss the circumstances of the arrest including whether you were in your car or home and whether any statements were made that may be relevant. We will examine whether any ammunition was recovered and its significance in the overall case and charges.
There are some legal guidelines that may help out-of-state residents and a lawyer should be consulted immediately. If you are arrested for possession of a weapon and your weapon is licensed in your home state, it is important to get the proofs and relevant documents together to begin defending the charges.
We have represented thousands of clients in cases involving gun charges, crimes that are considered violent and other offenses. Our lawyers have a background in homicide and criminal prosecution, and we use this knowledge to create a strong defense strategy aimed at finding the best resolution possible for your situation.
When you are facing criminal charges in Hackensack, Wayne or throughout northern New Jersey, you will need an understanding attorney who is willing to answer your questions and stand up for you in court. To schedule a free initial consultation, fill out our online form or call our office at 201-212-4532.